Jump to content


Photo

Blender V3O Import/Export Scripts


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 MedicalByte

MedicalByte

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Classified

Posted 25 February 2015 - 11:48 PM

To the admin/mods: My apologies if I have posted under the wrong topic section. I looked around the different sections and this seemed the most suitable, but I could be wrong.

 

I have been working on Blender V3O Import/Export scripts for the past few weeks and have achieved what I believe is a suitable state for beta release of the scripts.

Thanks goes to THVFD for his patience while I bugged him with all my Zmodeler2 questions. :)

 

Requires Blender v2.7

 

These scripts are licensed under the GNU GPL v2.0 license (http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.txt).

 

Any use of these scripts and resulting actions is at the sole-risk of the user! I have done my best to ensure the scripts work as intended, but it's a good idea to keep back-up copies of models, textures, and any other data before use of these scripts.

 

Updates will be edited into this post.

 

Current Features and Supported Functions:

Import/Export Mesh Vertices/Faces

Import/Export Materials

Import/Export UV Mapping

Code comments! (not the best, but I'll try to keep it somewhat documented for those who'd like to help improve it or understand what I've learned about the v3o format so far)

 

Planned Features:

Optional rotation on export

 

Known Bugs:

B001 - Can't export unless the model is uv unwrapped. - Fixed

B002 - Can't export an imported .v3o model when a texture image fails to load. A texture image can fail to load when it doesn't exist in the imported .v3o file directory.

 

 

Updates

20150225233000

  • Fixed Bug #001
  • Added a ton of comments and removed some uneeded code

 

If y'all have any issues with the script or find any bugs, let me know here. If you are able to send me (via PM) any models/textures/.blend/.v3o files you are having issues with, I can hopefully recreate the specific bug on my end to work on a fix a little faster.

 

If you have any feature requests, by all means ask! I can't guarantee anything but you never know till you try.

 

Installation:

1. Extract the "io_mesh_v3o.zip" file.

 You should have a directory called "io_mesh_v3o" with four files inside. The file names are "__init__.py", "export_v3o.py", "import_v3o.py", and "License.txt".

2. Open the "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.73\" directory in Windows Explorer.

3. If it doesn't already exsist, you need to create a folder named "scripts". Inside of the scripts folder, create another folder called "addons".

4. Move the "io_mesh_v3o" folder into the "addons" directory. The four files referenced above should now be in the "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.73\scripts\addons\io_mesh_v3o" folder.

5. Start Blender up, and goto "File->User Preferences".

Spoiler

6. In the User Preferences window, goto the "Add-ons" section and search for "v3o".

Spoiler

7. Enable the v3o add-on by checking the box on the far right. You can save the setting by clicking "Save User Settings".

That's it! The Import/Export options should now be available in the Blender File menu.

Attached Files


Edited by MedicalByte, 28 February 2015 - 12:14 AM.


#2 Pottyscotty

Pottyscotty

    Battalion Chief

  • Member
  • 950 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England, UK, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
  • Interests:Fire Service Command Structure

Posted 26 February 2015 - 01:47 AM

I will definitely be trying this, always a pain to export from blender just to import to ZModeler then export it again. Great job  :12:


Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do.

 

-Benjamin Franklin


#3 MedicalByte

MedicalByte

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Classified

Posted 26 February 2015 - 06:32 AM

I will definitely be trying this, always a pain to export from blender just to import to ZModeler then export it again. Great job  :12:

 

Thanks!

It should be a much more efficient process for Blender modelers now.



#4 cops

cops

    Assistant Chief

  • Members
  • 1,666 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 February 2015 - 08:29 AM

you should set this in the tutorial area :)
its awesome you can do it now with Blender ^^


QHVZAKw.png

 

**NOTE**

I don't take any requests any more,except for ;

Red Watch (RCMP)


#5 Connor Brumleve

Connor Brumleve

    Captain

  • Members
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 April 2015 - 12:39 AM

HELP! I got the fire truck cab pack 1.0 by itchboy, and it wont load the models. Any suggestions?


A signature larger than the standard post is too large, let's keep it reasonable. 


#6 BogdanM

BogdanM

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 26 November 2015 - 02:42 PM

I'm using this script to export a model I've made and I'm having a couple of issues. When I initially modeled the vehicle I followed the dimensions of the blueprint and the model ended up being much larger than real world version. I scaled down the model but no matter what I try, the v3o file keeps the original size of the model, not the scaled down version. 

 

The second thing is that when I export a model, the v3o version of the model contains 50-75% more polys than the blender model. To my inexperienced eye most of the new faces are not needed, it simply turns all the faces into triangles.

 

The blender model I try to export

AcxBSHP.png

 

The v3o file when I import it back in Blender:

1DfSEA1.png



#7 Newfoundking

Newfoundking

    The Real Slim Shady

  • Moderator
  • 7,253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newfoundland

Posted 26 November 2015 - 06:56 PM

Correct me someone if I'm wrong, but it appears that blender uses squares and v3o files don't like those, making them into triangles. I don't know if there's a way with converting it to solve this, other than either making it with triangles originally, or post conversing editting. Usually when you convert something you have to spend time editing it to rectify issues with it. 

 

In as far as the scaling, it may be worthwhile to just scale it all in Zmod, instead of blender if it keeps resetting to normal. It looks like there's an error while saving if it won't save the scaled dimensions. 


Wanna play multiplayer without any of the commitment? Emergency Planet hosts casual multiplayer to all its members! Contact me for more information

 

Executive Director: EMP Gulag

 

Do you have a warning that you want to go away, or are you facing another punishment you don't want? Contact me for the NEW alternative!


#8 BogdanM

BogdanM

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 26 November 2015 - 07:49 PM

Correct me someone if I'm wrong, but it appears that blender uses squares and v3o files don't like those, making them into triangles. I don't know if there's a way with converting it to solve this, other than either making it with triangles originally, or post conversing editting. Usually when you convert something you have to spend time editing it to rectify issues with it. 

 

In as far as the scaling, it may be worthwhile to just scale it all in Zmod, instead of blender if it keeps resetting to normal. It looks like there's an error while saving if it won't save the scaled dimensions. 

 

Thanks for the reply!

 

If I notice any lag while using the model in-game I'll try and optimize it a bit more. I'm not really keen on purchasing a license for ZModeler, especially since I'll only use it to convert the file. I'll ask a friend to convert the files with ZMod and see if that fixes the size issue, but I don't like bothering someone else every time I make a change to the model. I was really happy to find this script and was hoping it would take ZMod out of the equation...



#9 THVFD

THVFD

    Battalion Chief

  • Members
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:firefighting and fishing

Posted 27 November 2015 - 03:25 AM

Thanks for the reply!

If I notice any lag while using the model in-game I'll try and optimize it a bit more. I'm not really keen on purchasing a license for ZModeler, especially since I'll only use it to convert the file. I'll ask a friend to convert the files with ZMod and see if that fixes the size issue, but I don't like bothering someone else every time I make a change to the model. I was really happy to find this script and was hoping it would take ZMod out of the equation...


You can use the triangulate modifyer to change it all to trriangles i model in blender and dont have any issues out of them you can pm me if you need anymore help


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Riverfalls2_zps22a28fd9.png


#10 BogdanM

BogdanM

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 27 November 2015 - 03:57 PM

You can use the triangulate modifyer to change it all to trriangles i model in blender and dont have any issues out of them you can pm me if you need anymore help


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Thanks for the tip! It will be useful in the future to keep an eye on the poly count. I don't have any other questions right now but I will keep your offer in mind.



#11 THVFD

THVFD

    Battalion Chief

  • Members
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:firefighting and fishing

Posted 27 November 2015 - 07:30 PM

Thanks for the tip! It will be useful in the future to keep an eye on the poly count. I don't have any other questions right now but I will keep your offer in mind.

If you look at the top it says faces,tris, etc

If you look at the number next to tris it will tell you how many triangles there are


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Riverfalls2_zps22a28fd9.png


#12 BogdanM

BogdanM

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 28 November 2015 - 01:52 AM

If you look at the top it says faces,tris, etc

If you look at the number next to tris it will tell you how many triangles there are


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

That's even better!



#13 shadow1994

shadow1994

    Captain

  • Members
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 January 2016 - 06:55 PM

For some reason it wont let me import models? it comes up with an error????



#14 THVFD

THVFD

    Battalion Chief

  • Members
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:firefighting and fishing

Posted 11 January 2016 - 09:56 PM

For some reason it wont let me import models? it comes up with an error????


The models are giving you the error bc of 1 of 2 things

1. Make sure the model is unlocked(to do this open the .v3o in a word program such as notepad++)
2. The model is missing a texture


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Riverfalls2_zps22a28fd9.png


#15 LBFDEngine11

LBFDEngine11

    Firefighter

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California
  • Interests:Military, Firefighting, Law Enforcement

Posted 12 January 2016 - 03:43 AM

The models are giving you the error bc of 1 of 2 things

1. Make sure the model is unlocked(to do this open the .v3o in a word program such as notepad++)
2. The model is missing a texture


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

i made a vehicle but im having trouble texturing the rest of the body for it



#16 shadow1994

shadow1994

    Captain

  • Members
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 January 2016 - 11:22 AM

The models are giving you the error bc of 1 of 2 things

1. Make sure the model is unlocked(to do this open the .v3o in a word program such as notepad++)
2. The model is missing a texture


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks for the info, will give this a try!

#17 THVFD

THVFD

    Battalion Chief

  • Members
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:firefighting and fishing

Posted 12 January 2016 - 09:47 PM

i made a vehicle but im having trouble texturing the rest of the body for it


PM me your issues with it and i shall help you fix it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Riverfalls2_zps22a28fd9.png


#18 LBFDEngine11

LBFDEngine11

    Firefighter

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California
  • Interests:Military, Firefighting, Law Enforcement

Posted 13 January 2016 - 01:01 PM

PM me your issues with it and i shall help you fix it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

do you want me to pm you the whole thing because it is the first fire engine made it through blender and i really appreciate the help on this.

Pierce_PUC_engine.pngThis is the the problem im having with it i had made a Pierce PUC Engine thats needs to be fixed up a bit 



#19 THVFD

THVFD

    Battalion Chief

  • Members
  • 631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:firefighting and fishing

Posted 13 January 2016 - 08:24 PM

do you want me to pm you the whole thing because it is the first fire engine made it through blender and i really appreciate the help on this.
Pierce_PUC_engine.pngThis is the the problem im having with it i had made a Pierce PUC Engine thats needs to be fixed up a bit


Yes pm me the whole thing


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Riverfalls2_zps22a28fd9.png


#20 LBFDEngine11

LBFDEngine11

    Firefighter

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California
  • Interests:Military, Firefighting, Law Enforcement

Posted 14 January 2016 - 05:08 AM

i will pm it to you soon